Who does what?

The Parish Council
is funded by a precept which is an amount decided by the parish councillors
each year and collected for the Parish Council by Broadland District Council as
part of your Council Tax; if you look at your Council Tax bill you will see a
line for a small amount for the Parish Council.

The Parish Council
is made up of 7 parish councillors, who were elected in May 2019 or who have been
co-opted since that date.

The parish clerk is employed by the Parish Council to deal with the administration, take
the minutes of the meetings, produce the accounts and budgets and be the first
port of call for local residents.

Beighton Parish Council
covers the villages of Beighton and Moulton St Mary and has noticeboards on the
wall of Beighton Village Hall and in the lay-by on Acle Road in Moulton St Mary.  The Council works to improve local facilities
and sort out local issues. The Council is consulted on planning applications
but does not make the final decision.
The Council also supports various local charities and groups.

Broadland District Council is the authority which decides on the planning applications, (apart from a few low-lying properties which are in the Broads Authority area.)  It also looks after your rubbish collections,
sorts out street nameplates, deals with pest control and other aspects of
environmental health, tree preservation orders and licensing.  Broadland also runs the Tots 2 Teens holiday
play schemes.

You can contact Broadland District Council on 01603 431133
or www.broadland.gov.uk.  Your district councillor is Grant Nurden on
01603 712170 or [email protected].

Norfolk County
mends the roads, the pavements, the streetlights on the trunk
roads and some housing estates, manages the schools and adult education, social
services, libraries, public footpaths and bridleways.

You can contact Norfolk County Council on 0344 800 8020 or www.norfolk.gov.uk.  Your county councillor is Brian Iles on 01493
394181 or [email protected].

Should you need him, your Member of Parliament is Keith Simpson and you can contact him on
01603 865763 or [email protected].

The Parish Council
meets on the second Tuesday of January, March, May, July, September and
November at 7.30 p.m. in Beighton Village Hall. (See list of meeting dates
under Meetings.) There is always an opportunity for the public to ask questions
or raise issues  towards the beginning of
each meeting but the public is not allowed to join in during the formal part of
the meeting.

You can contact the clerk, Sarah Hunt, on 01692 580859 or
[email protected]